Upcoming Events

Billy Budd in the Breadbox BTG Play!
Saturday, May 26, 2018 -
2:00pm to 3:00pm
Join Berkshire Theatre Group, Berkshire Historical Society at Herman Melville's Arrowhead and Jana Laiz for this performance of BTG's adaptation of Jana's new book!
Right in the barn where Melville milked his cow!
Staged Reading of "Mumbet" screenplay at BIFFMA
Saturday, June 2, 2018 -
8:00pm to 10:00pm
Please join us for a staged reading of the upcoming film “MUMBET” at the Berkshire International Film Festival!  She could neither read nor write, yet with fearless courage, Elizabeth “Mumbet” Freeman used the very words written by the men she served, “all men are created free and equal” to challenge the courts and sue for her freedom, changing the course of history, 80 years before the Emancipation Proclamation. This is the true story of an unsung American hero who was truly a founding Mother of our country. MUMBET ~ One act of bravery can change the world
Jana in Ireland
Thursday, June 7, 2018 (All day)
Jana will be in County Tipperary with illustrator, Declan Kerr, talking to students about writing, Mumbet, Herman Melville, art and more!
Herman Melville and Pittsfield, Ballina Arts Center, Ballina, Ireland
Monday, June 11, 2018 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Jana will be in Pittsfield's Irish ister City, Ballina discussing her life in the Berkshires, Herman Melville and Pittsfield!

Past Events

Billy Budd in the Breadbox BTG Play!
  • Friday, May 25, 2018 -
    2:00pm to 3:00pm
Millbrook Literary Festival Speaker
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 -
    2:00pm to 2:45pm
Millbrook Literary Festival Book signing
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 -
    10:00am to 4:30pm
Billy Budd in the Breadbox BTG Play!
  • Sunday, April 22, 2018 -
    1:00pm to 3:00pm
Earth Expo Book Signing
  • Saturday, April 21, 2018 -
    10:00am to 5:00pm
Billy Budd in the Breadbox BTG Play!
  • Wednesday, April 18, 2018 -
    1:00pm to 2:15pm
Let’s get FiredUp! Together with Jana Laiz and Jennifer Browdy
  • Saturday, December 2, 2017 -
    1:00pm to 4:00pm
Writing As A Spritual Practice ~ Maryknoll Fathers & Brothers
  • Sunday, November 12, 2017 (All day)

Pages